Tuesday, October 6, 2009

ACORN in a Nutshell


Senator Mike Johanns (R-NE) introduced a bill (click here for details) to block the Association of Community Organizations for Reform Now (ACORN) from receiving any federal funding. The Protect Taxpayers from ACORN Act is cosponsored by 16 Senators. Unlike Senator Johanns' previous amendments, which only prevented funding in two specific appropriations bills (transportation/housing and department of interior) from going to ACORN in the next fiscal year, this legislation would permanently block ACORN from receiving taxpayer dollars.

Sen Johanns previous amendment S.AMDT.2355 (click here for details) to the bill H.R.3288 that banned federal ACORN funds in the Transportation and Housing and Urban Development spending bill, passed the Senate by an 83-7 vote.

There were only 6 Democratic Senators and 1 Independent Senator to vote against this amendment:

Burris (D-IL), Casey (D-PA), Durbin (D-IL), Gillibrand (D-NY), Leahy (D-VT), Sanders (I-VT), Whitehouse (D-RI)

Then September 17, he sponsored another amendment, S.AMDT.2394 to H.R.2996 (click here for details) prohibiting federal ACORN money in the Interior and environment appropriations bills, which pass by an 85-11 vote. \

There were only 10 Democratic Senators and 1 Independent Senator to vote against this amendment:

Akaka (D-HI), Bingaman (D-NM), Burris (D-IL), Casey (D-PA), Durbin (D-IL), Feinstein (D-CA), Gillibrand (D-NY), Harkin (D-IA), Leahy (D-VT), Sanders (I-VT), Whitehouse (D-RI)

Also on Thursday over in the House of Representatives they overwhelming voted 345-75-2 to pass a GOP amendment to a student loan bill, the “Defund ACORN Act”, which would completely defund all monies to ACORN.

On the vote, 172 Democrats joined 173 Republicans backing the move.

No comments: